WIP Wednesday: Top, done!

I am SO excited.

On Sunday, while everyone else in Denver was watching some football game, I was sewing.

Thanks to the Vintage Quilt Revival blog tour, I was finally inspired to create a setting for my 2013 Sugar Block Club blocks… (and I bought a copy of the book, too…)

20140121-213803.jpg

I bordered each block in a solid. This had two benefits- first, 3 of my paper pieced blocks came in 1/2 an inch too small, so I used the borders to plump them up to size. Second, I really feel like the borders allowed the individual blocks to shine. I wish I had had a bit more of the green and brown solids left, as I would have been very happy to have a bit less orange and a bit more green, but overall, I’m happy. The solids were all FQs, and there is very very little left.

Then, I used the prints as the setting squares. I really love how this helped me balance out the colors and prints in the individual blocks.

And I bought the most wonderful backing fabric, on clearance for $6.84 a yard, no less, from Fabric.com.
kf background
It’s a spring 2013 Kaffe, and it has all the colors of the front in it. UPS is supposed to bring it today, so maybe I can baste over the weekend and finish it up while I am still motivated. I was thinking a row of flying geese from the leftover front fabric, backed in the white, would be a nice addition to the back.

Maybe my mom will actually get her Xmas gift in time for Valentine’s Day.

23 Comments

Filed under Gift, Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM, WIP Wednesday

23 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Top, done!

  1. Debi

    Wow, this is fabulous. You, in turn, have inspired me!

  2. So beatiful! Amazing! Congratulations

  3. I think it looks fantastic!

  4. Very nice. And so close to the finish. Valentine’s is a good deadline.

  5. Your sugar blocks are gorgeous.

    • Thank you! this top is for my mom- not colors I generally use. I made another full set of sugar blocks in my own colors (purples, blues etc) and can’t wait to finish those as well…

      Thanks for coming by!

      -Samantha

  6. I love` it with the borders and white–it does really show off the blocks. I used 4 different borders around my squares and i’m hand quilting each block separately–7 down, 5 to go. Just love how different and beautiful everyone has interpreted the same patterns.

  7. Lauren aka Giddy99

    It’s lovely! Well done!

  8. stunning sampler quilt! i really like the solid block borders as well. I will have to give it a try on one of my quilts one of these days.

  9. Your top is lovely! I like how you bordered and sashed the blocks. I’ve found Vintage Quilt Revival to be very inspiring as well – I am planning to finish my Sugar Block top with the Sampler on Point layout.

  10. I love your sampler so very pretty! I too found my setting in that book as well!

  11. Cher

    good for you! I do love the backing fabric and flying geese too! your mom will swoon over this gift…well done!

  12. Cher

    late to comment on a fabulous finish Sam! Your mom will be thrilled and good for you to embrace a few goals for 2015. don’t take too long to put your own sugar blocks together for yourself either.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

