The Last Finish of 2013

With time off from work, I have actually done more sewing over the last week tun in the last month or two. Hooray! In an attempt to start 2014 off with good quilty karma, I spent New Year’s Eve finishing up the Former Frolleague Quilt. Basting, then quilting, then binding. Awesomely, I was able to listen to the BBC radio version of Neverwhere, one of my all time favorite books, while I was working. (The wonderful Benedict Cumberbatch was one of the voices. Squee!)

IMG_5616 IMG_5623 IMG_5626 IMG_5628 IMG_5631 IMG_5637 IMG_5641

(FYI, as of the moment when I am typing, the baby has not yet arrived. S/he is being stubborn, and may be induced out at any moment. So, I DID get the quilt done before the baby was born!)

IMG_5733 IMG_5735 IMG_5738

I thought I would be okay with the wide unquilted patch of grey, but I don’t like it. If I had it to do over, I would put something in there… I’m putting that into the live ad learn column. One of my grand plans for 2014 is to work on my free motion quilting- I thought I’d make a bunch of placemats and use them as practice pieces… Then maybe I’ll feel more confident with filling in wide open spaces with my quilting. Meanwhile, I can start 2014 feeling a bit lighter.

Here’s hoping your 2014 is off to a wonderful crafty start!

Linking up with TGIFF and Finish It Up Friday

11 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Finish It Up Friday, Gift, Quilts

11 responses to “The Last Finish of 2013

  1. Not being a purple person, but this is looks really good.

    • thanks! I am the ultimate purple person Mom-to-be loves purple and grey, and didnt find out babys gender, so I added green. Because the quilt came out so girly, its probably going to be a boy! Thanks for coming by!

      -Samantha

  2. Kat

    I really like the pattern! And don’t worry about the quilting. Live and learn, and this quilt will still be warm and snugly.

  3. Loving this quilt- I especially love all of your photos!!! I think this pattern is darling and it’s on my to do list. I love your color choices!!!

    • Thanks, Ashley. (Sorry to be so late replying- i just realized this morning that Gmail moved all my wordpress comment notifications into spam. Boo!) And guess what- the baby arrived on 1/4, and she’s a girl, so it’s okay that the quilt came out so feminine! Happy new year! -Sam

  4. I like the look of the quilting but if it bothers you, you can always add more quilting to it later. I take quilts off the frame and reload them later and it works. (I realize you are sewing by domestic machine)

    • I wish i had a longarm! There is a local store that offers rental access, after you pass the intro classes, and i may try that this year. FYI, i have already washed and dried the quilt- would that make going back to add more quilting a terrible idea?

      Meanwhile, thank you for coming by!

      -Samantha

  5. I have also added quilting later when something really bothered me, but this does look good. I think the placemats to practice on are a great idea. I have also practiced on a whole cloth quilt before. It helped me learn to deal with all the bulk without worrying about something I pieced. Some of them I donated to local charities.

  6. Pingback: Baby bliss… | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

