WIP Wednesday: an old top in a new year…

With two weeks off from work, you’d think I would be further ahead right now on my crafty projects. But the first week was all birthday celebrations (mine) as well as Xmas… busy busy busy!

I did decide to kick off the New Year in style, by finishing up projects from the old year. It seems like a good tone to set for a productive year.

Remember this top?

DSC_0015_2

From last spring?

It’s been basted and ready to be quilted for ages, so today, I did just that!

IMG_5652

Even though NYE was surprisingly warm, we woke up to snow today. I let the kids be lazy, and I sewed away. I got the quilting done, and moved on to binding.

IMG_5654 IMG_5657

I had that fabulous striped fabric stashed away for this quilt, and I LOVE how it looks with both the front and back. (The quilt was small enough for me to get away with a non-pieced back, my favorite lazy kind…)

With Disc 2 of the final season of Dexter ( hooray for Netflix…), I whiled away a pleasant morning.

IMG_5658

Isn’t that backing fabric fun? (please please, look at the fabric and not my lousy quilting stitches…)

I’m hoping to have the binding hand sewn down before I head back to work next week, and then to mail this off the the baby it was intended for, before he becomes a full fledged toddler…

Here’s hoping you all have crafty new years!

6 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

6 responses to “WIP Wednesday: an old top in a new year…

  1. Cher

    oh, the striped binding is fabulous! and what a wonderful baby quilt you are finishing up…that baby will love it! Good for you to enjoy your two weeks off doing fun stuff…a lazy day for the children but you were anything but lazy.
    enjoy the binding…I too love to watch tv and stitch away.

  2. Love the binding, and the quilt for that matter! Fabulous.

  3. Great fabric choices! I know how it feels to complete something that’s been hanging around WAY too long. Congrats.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

