WIP Wednesday: December Sugar Block Club

It’s DECEMBER! (Just in case you didn’t know that, and weren’t already in crafty-holiday-gift stress mode…)

IMG_5151
December means it’s time to sew the final 2013 Sugar Block Club block… So far, I’ve gotten one done of my two. I’m in crunch mode! I’m knitting away like mad on a blanket for Henry that is 90% done, and I have that baby quilt to finish, and then, one of my 2 Sugar Block quilts is for my mom, for Xmas (shhhh!), which is getting really really close now. So I may not piece the 2nd December sugar club block for a while- my quilt doesn’t have a deadline.

IMG_5155
A week ago, I started my new job- the first change in my career in over 8.5 years! I’m 5 days in, and aside from being exhausted by EVERYTHING in my life being new, all is well. I actually did have enough energy, on a weeknight, to piece this block! That’s huge for me- usually after work, I just want to collapse! But my commute home is about a 3rd of what it used to be, so that really helps.

IMG_5157

This block consists of 8 paper pieced triangles that make up the block. They were simple enough to piece, and as always, selecting fabric took me as much time as sewing (well, nearly.) Again, I used my super-technical method of seeing which fabrics had been used least in the previous 11 blocks.

IMG_5160

I am always amazed by the scrap and mess pile generated when paper piecing!

IMG_5163

The center of the block upsets me a little- the batik was cut out of one lengthwise strip, and the journey from green to orange is much more obvious than I had realized. But oh well- the paper piecing turned out nicely, and I like the colors overall. And done is better than perfect, as many of you have pointed out to me before!

It’s time to start thinking about settings. Amy has some great ideas over on her blog… I really like the idea of setting the squares diagonally, but I suck at math and don’t own any fabulous quilting software to help me. (Hope I win the fabulous SBC giveaway!) Your ideas are welcome, hint hint… I do have loads of the background fabric left and varying amounts of the solids and prints.

Hope you are all doing well with your own holiday crafty deadlines! (Linking up at WIP Wednesday…)

7 Comments

Filed under Gift, Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM, WIP Wednesday

7 responses to “WIP Wednesday: December Sugar Block Club

  1. Cher

    A setting involves how large do you want this quilt to be and then, how much do you want your blocks to be the focus? You could lay out your blocks on your bed and arrange a bit to play with layouts. The batik might be a good plain “block” to use in between whether squares, sashing or ?
    Have a glass of wine and play with your blocks I say.

  2. Such pretty fabrics! They work beautifully for this star.

  3. katyquilts

    It’s a lovely block! Best wishes on the new job, hope you end up with more quilting time :).

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: the penultimate 2013 Sugar Block Club Block! | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

