Friday Finish: the Xmas Animal Quilt

It’s done!!!
20131206-073024.jpg
I started this quilt nearly 2 years ago. And I finished the top pretty quickly. And then it sat and sat and sat. Both because I HATE basting and quilting, and because I didn’t feel a sense of urgency to finish an Xmas quilt in March.

And then Xmas came and went and the top was still a top.

And then there was the great lost walking foot of 2013.

And then I found the walking foot, and quilted this sucker, and machine sewed on half the binding.

And then it sat again for months because I was too lazy to handsew the rest of the binding,

And then last week was Thanksgiving, and so I finished the quilt!

20131206-073033.jpg

 

2 years later, I still adore these fabrics. The animals are by Alexander Henry, and they’re just so much fun. Alligators hold special significance for my family, so really, the fabric couldn’t be better. And the polka dot binding makes me smile so much.

I just realized I forgot to get a photo of the back, but it’s pretty generic. I’m so happy to have this done and ready to show you, and use for the holidays, that I rushed out some very bad photos just so I could blog today!

Now, off to the new job…

Linking up with TGIFF and Finish it Up Friday.

19 Comments

Filed under Finish It Up Friday, Quilts

19 responses to “Friday Finish: the Xmas Animal Quilt

  1. Oooh, this is so fun and cheerful! Love! 🙂 I’m glad you got it done for this Christmas.

  2. ellen

    Not only is it adorable, but “Yay” for a finished quilt!

  3. margaret beard

    I too like making tops but hate to put them together. I have several “unfinished tops”. You just inspired me to start working on one. Your quilt is fabulous! Thanks for sharing….

    • Glad to be of inspiration! I didn’t mention that I have another Xmas top done and ready to go, from about the same time period, that still needs to be basted, quilted, and bound. It WILL be done by next Xmas.

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Samantha

  4. I love that I’m not the only one who suffers from this “finishing” disorder. I have 3 sitting in the corner looking at me, and every now and then I think I hear one of them sigh.
    I love your animal quilt. It’s just beautiful.
    Janeen@quiltartdesigns

    • I am the worst when it comes to finishing tops. I don’t enjoy basting and my quilting skills are underdeveloped. Of course, the only thing that will change that is practice! I was thinking of making a series of placemats for my family as test pieces in 2014. Maybe that will push me out of my no-finish-funk!

      Thank you for coming by!

      -Samantha

  5. what a beautiful and unconventional Xmas quilt! love it.

    • Our xmas decor tends toward modern and unconventional… There have been some wonderful fabrics over the last few years (many of which are sitting in my Xmas stash waiting to get made into something fabulous…) Thanks for visiting, Samantha

  6. I too hate the sandwiching process, and I am intimidated by the quilting. I’m getting over the latter by practicing FMQ, but still hate the pinning. Cheers to you.

  7. The quilt looks great. I hate sandwiching too, my tops send to sit with good intentions until I decide not to do it myself and send it out to the long-armer…
    I hope the new job went well.

  8. This is soo cute. I have plenty of those I will get around to it quilts.

  9. Cher

    hip hip hooray for a finish! It is no small feat to tackle a large quilt and get it done..no matter how long it sits as a top or half bound quilt! Your family will love using it this month and it certainly makes me smile..love those animals!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

