WIP Wednesday: The (former) frolleague quilt…

If you stopped by last week, you saw that I put together a top for a frolleague’s soon to be baby.

IMG_4885

And this week, I’m calling it the former frolleague quilt.

Why?

Well, in a huge, life altering decision, I have taken a new job. I’ve been at my current position for over 8.5 years. I love my job (fundraising for a nonprofit with a mission about which I’m passionate.) But for a number of reasons, that I’m not going to detail here, it’s time to move on. I have accepted a new job that will be less stressful, and have a significantly easier commute, as well as hopefully provide a great opportunity for my future. I start a week from today… so please, please, send me happy thoughts as I embark on this monumental change! (By nature, I shy from change. If “shy” means avoid at all cost, even when it’s detrimental to me. So this is huge huge huge.)

Meanwhile, I managed to finish the back for this baby quilt. I could have made it out of nearly one solid length of fabric, but I decided that would be too dull. I generally take the easy way out on backs, so this is a huge deal for me, even if it’s not all that elaborate.

IMG_4916

(It really isn’t as wrinkly as it looks- that’s all my ripply, DIY design wall…) I’m hoping to get it basted and start quilting over the weekend- BEFORE I start the new job! Since I’m leaving at what is absolutely the wort time of year for my old job, I’m working up to the day before I start the new job. So, I anticipate being quite wiped out for the next few weeks…

Wishing everyone in the US a wonderful Thanksgiving, as well as a Happy Hanukkah to all who celebrate it. Hoping you all make some wonderful memories with your friends and families- and that you also find some time to sew, knit, or otherwise craft!

11 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

11 responses to “WIP Wednesday: The (former) frolleague quilt…

  1. Congrats!!!! What a great time for you and I hope all your transitions go smoothly! Love this quilt 🙂

  2. Good luck with the new job! the quilt is fabulous- I love how the calm brownish background makes those yummy colors just glow!

    • That brownish-grey has been hiding in my stash for a few years, waiting for the right project I’m so glad I pulled it out for this one! Thank you for coming by, and for the good new job thoughts! -Samantha

  3. Sara

    Good luck at your new job! Sometimes we have to force a change on ourselves. I hate it lol but it can be necessary. Hope you are rewarded from this new adventure!

    Gorgeous backing for the baby quilt; )

    • Thank you for the good wishes! I’m very excited about the change, even while being fearful.

      Thank you for visiting, and also for the quilt back compliment! Now to baste it…

      -Samantha

  4. Best wishes in your new job! Cute quilt, too.

  5. Cher

    hurray! found your blog and now I can keep up with you once again…congrats on the new job and making a huge leap for yourself! way to go…looking forward to catching up on what you have been doing for the last several years…cher

  6. Good luck with the new job. The quilt (front and back) looks great.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

