WIP Wednesday: the frolleague top

I have a “frolleague” (friend + colleague- saw that word on another blog lately and borrowed it, but can’t remember where I saw it…) who is having a baby, her first, right around New Years Eve. So of course I need to make a quilt! But this frolleague happens to be pretty crafty herself, and also has an excellent and specific sense of color and design. I’ve been dragging my feet about starting the quilt, because I wanted it to live up to some pretty high standards. And of course, she chose not to find out if it’s a boy or girl, so, it had to be nicely gender neutral to boot.

I turned to my trusty Pinterest quilt board, and went through the many tutorials I have pinned. I settled on 3 finalists. Fletcher, Star Bright, and Marmalade Squares. In the end, Marmalade Squares won out, because I had some brownish-grey solid stashed away that was the perfect color for a background, at least for this mom-to-be. It’s a free pattern on the Moda Bakeshop website, by Katie Blakesley of Swim Bike Quilt.

I planned to use the grey for background, and many purples from my stash for the prints. Even if it is a boy, mom loves grey with purple. But as I was working on pulling fabrics, it seemed flat, and so I started to throw in greens.

IMG_4874

The pattern is written for charm squares, so I had to cut my own…

IMG_4876

You start with a 5×5 grid of 5″ squares, and then start to surround it with background.

IMG_4878

I feel like the green was a good idea- both more gender neutral AND brighter for baby… Next step it piecing the 4 rows of lattice strips. I repeatedly underestimated the amount of bits to cut (since I wasn’t using charm square packs, I had to cut my own, and I don’t actually even know how many squares are usually in a pack!)

IMG_4880

You also make a little patch for the upper left corner to create an appearance of the strips being woven.

And look, after 3 episodes of the final season of Dexter, a lunch break, and starting House of Cards, I had this:

IMG_4885

I love it! I am so happy with how it turned out, and to get the top done on one Sunday afternoon, well, for me, that’s pretty amazing. Next Sunday is set aside to quilt it. If I can pull that off, and bind it in the following week, it should be done a month before the baby is due. I can do it!

I’m thinking purple for the binding- hoping it will balance the whole top nicely. Not yet sure what I’m doing for the back, so, hmm, maybe I need to rethink that schedule I just typed for myself! Wish me luck.

18 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Pinned it AND made it!, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

18 responses to “WIP Wednesday: the frolleague top

  1. I love your fresh modern quilt and the fact that it is fast and fun is great too.

  2. I love this one of a kind and modern for baby. Lucky baby. Frolleague, awesome! I think that the purple binding will be good. Good luck on timeline.

  3. I love this baby quilt. I agree that purple binding is the way to go.

    • A lovely pattern, and adding the green really livened it up. (Of course I like green and purple, so…). If it were my quilt I’d bind it to match the background. I am really into the unbordered, unbound look these days. Weeks Ringle speaks of “engaging the edge” and your woven strips do that perfectly, and I think that effect would be lost with contrasting binding. If I were being totally daring, I’d match the binding to the edge of the strips, but that would be some difficult matching, so I’d probably pass.

      • I’m intrigued by the idea of binding it to match the background- I’ve never done that before. If I could figure out how to be precise enough to match the woven bits, I’d totally try it! But I’m not sure how to pull that off! Hmmmm, ideas! -Sam

    • Thank you for the compliment, and for stopping by 🙂 -Samantha

  4. Don’t you just LOVE pinterest and all the ideas and inspiration to be found? You made a very beautiful quilt. I think the colors will be just perfect for a boy or a girl. You amaze me in getting this all done so quickly.

    • Getting it done quickly was totally necessary- with the craziness of the holidays about to hit, I am worried about getting it done at all!

      Pinterest is wonderful and evil Great inspiration, so easy to get caught up pinning and never actually doing!

      Thanks for coming by!

      -Samantha

  5. Eep! I LOVE this. Totally bookmarking this because I can see myself making one of these with the random charm packs I have lying around.

  6. What a neat project! love the colors and layout.

  7. Jennifer @ Glinda Quilts

    I love this quilt – can see many variations I could make! Thank you for sharing and explaining it so well. Might just have to pinch ‘frolleague’ from you too 🙂

  8. It is pretty cool pattern.

  9. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: The (former) frolleague quilt… | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

