Knit Mitts a la Hobbit

I’ve been knitting for quite a few years now, and I’ve made nearly nothing for my husband. He’s not interested in socks or sweaters. (He does have several wonderful quilts, lest you think he’s totally neglected…) So when he himself found a pattern and asked me to make it for him, and went so far as to research and buy the yarn himself, you know I HAD to do it.

What finally caught his fancy?

Did you see The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey? Did you notice the extraordinary hand knits worn by the dwarves? You can read about them here and here. This promotional image from the film gives you a few tantalizing views… but it’s also totally worth some time with the Google to get more detailed looks.

HAUJ_Bus_Dwarves_DOM

What truly caught his eye was a pair of mitt’s worn by Ori. This blog has great photos as well as a pattern interpretation of her own… But my DH found a pattern that he liked best via Etsy, and he ordered it. Then there was the yarn… It was a long, drawn out decision, and in the end, he ordered two types. 2 skeins of Berocco Vintage in an olive/camo green, and 2 skeins of Cascade 128 Tweed in Jet. I started with the Vintage.

IMG_2931

It’s a really lovely shade of green- not totally solid. Very manly, or dwarvenly, perhaps?

The first mitt was done speedily, but was a disaster. I followed the Etsy pattern to a T, and should have known better. It didn’t offer gauge, and I had to restart after I realized that the k1p1 rib was in fact meant to be a twisted rib of k1tblp1… There was only 1 size offered in the pattern, and had I been thinking, I would have realized that the mitts were being modeled by female hands. The first mitt barely covered my husband’s palm area, and the thumb was far too tight. FROG.

I started again, and nearly doubled the length called for in the pattern. Ditto with the number of stitches in the thumb. You can see the deets here. Take 2 was a total success, and the entire pair was done by the time the new Doctor Who was announced yesterday! (From Hobbit to Who, this post should give you a clue as to just how very very geeky we are over at Casa di Madfabriholic…)

IMG_2997 IMG_2999 IMG_3001

It’s quite rewarding to have made something for him for once- something that is making him very happy. Hooray!

We wanted to include Ori in our photos, but after going through Henry’s LOTR Legos, we realized we don’t have him. So Bilbo was drafted instead.

IMG_3003 IMG_3006

He seems satisfied with my work. Phew.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Geekery, Knitting

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

