WIP Wednesday: Lime Sherbet

Summer continues to be nutso around here. Today I actually had to write down a 3 paragraph plan to coordinate all the drop-offs and pick-ups required to shuttle my 2 kids between their combined 9 performances at theater camp this week. (Annie is Frau Blucher in Young Frankenstein, and Henry is Tommy in The Music Man.) Zoinks.

I did manage to work on my July Sugar Block Club block- Lime Sherbet. It’s a traditional Ohio Star, which is then set on point with paper pieced triangles added on. It’s a lovely combo.

IMG_2787

Now that we’re halfway through the year, I decided I need to be more strategic with my fabric selection. I sorted them into used twice, used once, and used not at all yet piles. I found three in the “not used at all” pile that worked together, and got to cutting.

IMG_2791

The dark grey is very very dark, more so than I realized before stopping to look at these photos. It’s by far the darkest of all the fabrics I pulled for this project. I think it will be okay, especially if I put it into at least one more block.

IMG_2801 IMG_2809

I’m not totally sure if I like the background fabric as the star. When I get around to making the 2nd one for my other Sugar Block quilt, I think I’m going to try it as a different fabric… It might just be that the values of the grey and the print fabric are so very wildly different.

Meanwhile, look! 7 done! More than halfway there!

IMG_2810

(Sorry for the supremely lousy photo!)

Finishing the block was a bit bittersweet. I’ve mentioned before that I stream TV shows via netflix while I sew. Recently, I finished Battlestar Galactica, and I was fracking sad to see it go. About 15 minutes before I finished this block, the final episode of Buffy ended. I cannot believe it took me so many years to discover that show. I may have come to the Whedon-verse late, but man oh man, am I happy to be there.

Now I just have to catch up on Breaking Bad before the new season starts. Which means I’ll have to find some more sewing time šŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM, WIP Wednesday

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Lime Sherbet

  1. mindingmomma

    your blocks look so good laying there together, i especially am drawn to that center one, you need to use that fabric again!

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: the OTHER lime sherbet | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

