More Coral

I’ve been yarning away on more coral for the Denver Satellite Reef. It’s been growing by leaps and bounds, but I don’t have any new photos to show you. I’m hoping to make it over there next week, but meanwhile, I can show you what I’ve been up to.

My first few submissions were limited by the amount of yarn I had on hand. I was working mainly with leftovers and scraps, so when the yarn ran out, the coral pieces stopped growing.

Even one of my most recent ones had the same issue:

IMG_2335

The center is so random, I don’t even know what it is or where it came from. I found a tiny ball in my stash. The outer edging is also a random leftover, no idea what project it was from. The entire coral fits in my hand.

I wanted to try something bigger… So a few weeks back I bought myself one of those giant skeins of yarn at Michael’s- not a Pound Of Love, but very similar. Over 1200 yards of worsted weight lavender. My goal was to use the entire skein on one coral. But I didn’t get that far. It grew and grew, and eventually, when I had used up about 2/3 of the skein, each row was taking 3-4 hours to complete. My experiment stopped being fun, so I switched to the multicolored edging yarn.

Check out the leftovers below…

IMG_2339

It took over one entire skein, over 240 yards, to complete the final edge row! And then I added a row of picot edging. THAT row took over 2.5 skeins! Over 600 yards. And 2 weeks. Take a look at my monster-piece. And check out the quarter in the photo for perspective…

IMG_2327

Yikes. And can you guess how much this piece of coral weighs?

Over 26 ounces.

I dropped both these pieces off at the Denver Art Museum this afternoon, so hopefully in a few weeks, after they go through the freezing process, they’ll be visible in the Reef!

Speaking of the Reef, check out this very cool postcard the DAM sent out to members this week:

Scan 20And the back-

Scan 21

While the reef on the front isn’t the Denver Satellite Reef, the one on the back is! If you’re in the Denver area, come check it out! And if you don’t know how to crochet but you’d like to learn, join in one of the free weekend workshops listed above. You’re not into crochet, you say? Spun covers quilting and spinning and so many other textile arts… you’ll love it all!

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Denver Satellite Reef

2 responses to “More Coral

  1. That is one very large piece of coral! Love watching what you do.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

