Hello, Quilty…

I have managed to shock myself.

With nearly 48 hours to spare before the shower, I actually got the baby quilt done! Pieced, quilted, bound, washed, dried and photographed.

DSC_0010_2

I just did a super simple crosshatch pattern. I felt like it enhanced the chevrons, and didn’t exceed my skill level. I think it works.

Then I dug through my stash, and found a lovely Michael Miller Fairy Frost that is cora/pink/purple- it works perfectly for the binding. And I had a whole yard, so I still have some left to enjoy later.

The back is sweet. I didn’t bother to piece it at all since the straight yardage was exactly the right width. And I figure a busy quilt back is good for a baby- it will hide stains!

DSC_0012_2

I can’t believe I actually got it done in time.

I’ve mentioned it before, but last year was my Year of No Mojo. I finished exactly zero quilts. Not just zero from start to finish, but zero tops only as well.

So this may look like one tiny, simple baby quilt, but really, it’s major accomplishment.

I’m back.

Wheeeee!

PS Linked up over at Finish it Up Friday

21 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Quilts

21 responses to “Hello, Quilty…

  1. yay for the return of your mojo! And the quilt looks amazing.

  2. ellen

    Woo, hoo! It feels so good to get a project done. And, it’s adorable too!

  3. I totally agree with you about the busy backing. I even use them on quilts for my big kids. And any quilts my big kids might touch. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. very nice! i love zigzag quilts.

  5. Sara

    Yippee for a finish!! It is a playful and cute quilt.

  6. Shannon

    Looks ready to snuggle with a cute baby!

  7. Sam! Totally digging this cheerful backing and the colors of the chevrons. Love this. Welcome back quilting mojo!!

  8. Love the Chevron Quilt…and the backing is perfect!!
    Congrats on getting the finish done before the deadline…feels good doesn’t it ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. PugMomQuilts

    Love the colors in your Chevron Quilt. What a great baby gift!

  10. Great finish! Love the colors.

  11. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: my *other* Home Sweet Home block… | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

