WIP Wednesday: Home Sweet Home

So, somehow it’s June already.

Yikes.

That means school’s out for both kids, my mother-in-law has come for her visit, and the new Sugar Block Club pattern has arrived. Not necessarily in that order. I wanted to dive right into the June block, but those other June things kept me busy. Not to mention that baby quilt that needs to be done by the shower on Saturday morning. (It’s halfway basted! Go me! And check back for finished project pictures later this week…)

But I did have some time to do some sewing on Monday- and I got one of my two June blocks done. Hooray! Halfway there, and actually on schedule, to boot.

First came picking fabrics…Ā IMG_2225

I’m now at the point where I’m using fabrics that are in other blocks- all of these have in fact been in other months.

The block was simple to piece. Careful pressing, as spelled out in the pattern, was the trick.

IMG_2234

I almost put the blocks together incorrectly, and at the last moment, I realized what I was doing, and saved myself some time spent with my seam ripper… (I almost attached the flowers to the center block, instead of putting them on the outer edge.)

IMG_2238

I really like the way the flowers look in this block. Again, that teal Kaffe Fassett aboriginal dot reads solid, but I love the color so much I’ll forgive it.

I’m happy with the way these 6 blocks are coming together so far.

IMG_2245

In all my years of quilting, I’ve never actually done a BoM before! I’m enjoying tackling a project a little bit at a time, taking time to step back and consider my choices. Have you done any BoM type projects? I might be getting a little bit hooked!

13 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM, WIP Wednesday

13 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Home Sweet Home

  1. Heathert34@aol.com

    Looking good. Just started sew society bom myself last night. Where did you join this om?

  2. The blocks look good–I really like the center lower one. Is it paper pieced? Seems it has some odd angles. I’ve done projects that are almost BOMs: Stores sell the first block kitted up for $5.00 (may be higher now). You bring it back, finished, in a month, listen to a talk about some new gadget, and get the next block. No charge unless you skip a month. Then it is $5.00 for the next one. Of course at each monthly session there are fat eighths of coordinating fabrics out for sale and you have to get sashing and backing.

    • Yes, that lower center block is paper pieced (so is top left.) It was a breeze to paper piece the one- the pattern gave great instructions and I felt like I really learned a lot, even though I had done paper piecing before.

      I’ve seen those store kit blocks before- but I’ve never had the follow thru to pull one off!

      Thanks for coming by!

      -Samantha

  3. those blocks are lovely! I like your color choices! I am stopping by from the WIP post, hop by if you get a chance! http://domesticdeficitdisorder.blogspot.com/2013/06/wip-wednesday-june-12th-edition.html

  4. Sara

    Oh I love the star block you did especially so! They are all wonderfully pieced.

  5. samantha,

    these look awesome! i don’t know how i missed the center one on the bottom – awesome! i really can’t pick a favorite, though, and i’m glad you didn’t have to use the seam ripper. that little devil.

    have a great day!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

