WIP Wednesday: Sunny Day blocks (during a blizzard)

I’ve had two weeks with no sewing- which sounds like a long time, but for last year, it would have been more like a blink! I think that it’s a good sign that I was twitchy and anxious about not having had a chance to sew lately. I MUST be getting back into the groove…

Today in Denver we were treated to a “blizzard”- I use quotes because, after basically the entire city shut down, including my kids’ school district, I think we got about 3 inches of snow. The defensive meteorologists are busy reminding us that “blizzard” is defined by wind, not snow, and we DID have blizzard-level wind gusts. What they’re not mentioning is the foot of snow they predicted… I shouldn’t mock them, though, because their dire predictions meant that I got an unexpected day at home- a day to sew! (I might have let the kids enjoy too much electronics so I could play in the sewing room, but hey, it’s their first and most likely last snow day of the school year.)

I’m still mulling over the future of the feather blocks, so, while they percolate, I had time to complete the April block for the Sugar Block Club BOM. April is another foundation pieced block- which made me antsy at first. I didn’t do so well with the last one, in February. You know what I just remembered today? I taught myself how to foundation piece many years ago, last century, technically, before there were millions of amazing internet based tutorials. Turns out I could have used some help back then. Amy gave wonderful, detailed photographic instructions in this month’s pattern, and I don’t think I’ve ever had such an easy time paper piecing! No, my points still aren’t perfect, but oh my goodness, they’re so much better.

Don’t you think?

DSC_0005 DSC_0010

(Remember, I’m making 2 Sugar Blocks- purple is for- duh- me- and brown/orange for my mom- shhh, it’s a secret.)

When I first saw this block, Sunny Days, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. In fact, I’m still not sure about my orange version. It’s so much brighter than the other 3 blocks.

DSC_0003

But I have 8 blocks left to brighten up the quilt, and several more shades of yellow and orange in the pile waiting to go…

Meanwhile, I am absolutely in love with my purple version. Modest much? I love love love how the Kaffe print pops against the purple backgrounds, and also how the directionality of the print works to add motion to the points.

DSC_0013

Sadly, there is a downside to my new understanding of foundation piecing. I want to go back and redo at least one (the brown), and maybe even both, of my February blocks. I could make them so much better now… and it will frustrate me to no end to see them wonky and with errors, knowing I could have improved them.

Think I’ll get another April “blizzard” day to spend sewing anytime soon?

Linking up with WIP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM, WIP Wednesday

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Sunny Day blocks (during a blizzard)

  1. Lovely blocks. I love the Kaffe as well. I recently picked up a couple of Kaffe Fassett Books on clearance, and now want to make at least one of them… But I really must finish my current UFOs/WIPs before I purchase anymore fabric or start on anything else!

  2. What cheerful fabrics! Your blocks look great! For me, perfect isn’t worth the time and frustration! I have two young kids, I don’t have time and frustration to spare, ha! I don’t think I have any Kaffe, but I’m slowly collecting better fabrics, so I’m sure it’s just a matter of time 😉

    • I admit, I’m not a perfectionist at all, but sometimes my mistakes are bad enough I have to go back and fix them… I have 2 kids as well, but they are growing up rapidly- 9 and about to turn 12. I hope you get some Kaffe soon- but beware, it’s addictive! -Samantha

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

