Finally Feathers


Last August, I was lucky enough to take a class with the one and only Anna Maria Horner. You can read all about my lovely day here. We worked on her truly stunning feather block (you can download a free PDF of the pattern- and all her other free goodies as well- here.) But here’s the sad truth. I came home from that class, put my fabric down, and didn’t touch it until, um, last week.

I’ve said it over and over again- last year was my year of no mojo. Not one quilt finished. Ugh. And this gorgeous quilt block, with its many points needing to match up, and potential for nasty bias stretching, couldn’t have come at a worse time for me. The block was gorgeous- and I left a multi-hour class with only half of one done.


IMG_20120805_131620

After working on those super simple and fast baby quilt tops last week, I decided I was ready to return to my feathers. Maybe it was my newfound love of spray starch and pins, maybe it was the return of my mojo, but I didn’t find the feathers quite as difficult as before.

IMG_0938

Which is NOT to say I didn’t spend some quality time with my old pal, Mr. Seam Ripper.

IMG_0936

I have now gone from one half of one block to enough feathers to make 4 complete blocks. Victory! Except for the minor detail that 4 blocks isn’t enough for anything but a wallhanging, and I don’t want a wallhanging. So next week, it’s back to cutting and sewing strips, so I can cut out more feather halves… But meanwhile, I’m going to enjoy looking at these.

DSC_0002 - Version 3 DSC_0002 - Version 2 DSC_0002 IMG_1015 IMG_1020(And while I’m looking, I’m going to pretend that I can’t see how wonky all these feathers are… La la la, I can’t see you.)

PS, I’m linking up with Lee’s WIP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced…

PPS I’ve jumped on the bloglovin bandwagon, so you can click here to follow me:
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

17 Comments

Filed under Quilts

17 responses to “Finally Feathers

  1. They all are just lovely! Thanks for showing us.

  2. Lovely! I love how bright the colours are!

    • Thank you- the frabics are a combination of Anna Maria Horner’s Field Study line with staff from many years of stash (though I do think almost all of the stash ended up being Kaffe fabrics…)

      -Samantha

  3. My oh my! those feathers are just gorgeous!

    • Thank you! If the outcome of the block wasn’t so gorgoeus, I would never have persevered through the fussy piecing. It’s just not my fave thing to do… But oh, the finished product!

      -Samantha

  4. Those look like a lot of fun! Another to add to the must make list.

    • It’s great that it’s a free PDF download pattern- and really, once you make the blocks, there’s so much you can do with them! I thought they’re make lovely pillows or a table runner…

      -Samantha

  5. Ooh, lovely! I really do love this block! I need to make more, and soon! 🙂

  6. I have been seeing these amazing feather quilts/blocks all over the web but did not know where they were originating from. Thank you so much for the link to the pattern. Your beautiful feathers have inspired me to give it a go.

  7. I love the feathers with the blue centers! so much fun.

    • Thanks! I had pulled all 4 solids as potential centers before I went to the class, and it was Anna Maria’s idea to not just choose one, but to use them all- I’m glad I did, they all create such a different feel for each feather, even with the same main fabrics! -Sam

  8. I love the feathers – I have not made one yet but I have been eyeing them for a while. I must put them on my to do list.

  9. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Sunny Day blocks (during a blizzard) | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

