WIP Wednesday: Sugar Block I & II, Forget Me Not

 

 

Friday brought us March, which, weather-wise here in Denver has already shown both its lion and lamb sides. Saturday: gorgeous, sunny, in the 60s. Monday: icy cold, blowing snow…

The 1st day of March also means a new Sugar Block Club pattern. If you’re not in the club, you’re in for a treat as Amy made this month’s block (Forget Me Not) available for all, for free on her blog! She even posted the monthly recipe 🙂

On Saturday afternoon, I was planning to go to Fancy Tiger for the monthly Sugar Block sewing session, but, it was cancelled at the last minute. I was all ready for an afternoon of sewing, so I hid in my sewing room and cranked out not one but TWO Forget Me Not blocks!

IMG_0797

 

This block was by far the simplest so far. It went together very very easily. As always, I had a horrible time picking out fabric. In the end, I’m a bit unhappy with this one- the outer dark teal is actually a Kaffe Aboriginal Dot, but it reads solid from a distance of more than a foot. Boo.

Even though this block was simpler, I still busted out what are rapidly becoming my 3 best friends:

IMG_0816 IMG_0813

Heavy spray starch, a super hot iron, and lots and lots of pins. Lots of em.

I ended up with this.

IMG_0827

 

See what I mean about that outer fabric? I don’t dislike it enough to piece another block, so it’s staying.

This one was so nice and easy, I did the second one, for my mom’s super secret xmas quilt (shhhh!) right away. I am much happier with how the fabrics turned out in this one, even of they don’t photograph as well as I’d like. The inner squares are actually a gorgeous deep eggplant color, but they look brown.

IMG_0821 IMG_0831 IMG_0825

 

This is my favorite color combo in the second quilt so far. I do wish I had thought to cut that center square on a diagonal, but it works. And the Kaffe shot cottons and wovens tend to be a looser weave, so even with spray starch, it might have been rough to work with that much bias.

Now that I have my monthly blocks done, before even a week of the month is up, I can move on to another project. There’s quite a few babies that I neglected last year during my year of no mojo… Time to get a-sewin’ for them all.

10 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM, WIP Wednesday

10 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Sugar Block I & II, Forget Me Not

  1. OK! Fauiltless Heavy Starch is the best. thing. ever. It’s especially a lifesaver when you’re working on the bias. I’m glad I’m not the only one in love with heavy starch 😉 Thanks for stopping by WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced!

  2. I love this block – and the center fabric on the first one is awesome. That starch looks legit – maybe that’s what I need for some of my piecing woes….

  3. The blocks look great. I even like the teal…

  4. A very productive sewing session, congratulations.

  5. I never used starch before and did have some struggles. Now since Amy Gibson’s and Leah Day’s comments and explanations from Craftsy classes, I LOVE starch–helps so much! It sure gives you a reason to look forward to the new month, doesn’t it–and you feel so good when you finish a block. . and another. . .

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

