Annie, Junior Sewist, Redux

As much as I might like to be, I’m never going to be one of those moms who is excellent at coming up with and executing crafty projects with her kiddos. First, I have no patience and am a fairly lousy teacher, but second and probably most important, my sewing/knitting/crocheting time is MY time- my escape. And I selfishly don’t feel like sharing it.

And yet…I’d still very much like my kids to enjoy crafting. Annie had some knitting lessons from a talented friend years ago, but it didn’t click with her. And then we signed her up for for Kids Sewing 101 at Fancy Tiger. she loved it, and loved Christina, the instructor, very much. A year later she took Kids Sewing 201 and made a skirt of her very own… She was so proud, and she loved the process.

Over the last year, Annie has become more and more of a giant Project Runway fan- we watch together every week when there is a new episode. This has made her even more eager to sew her own fashions… So she was thrilled to get the last spot in Christina’s new class, sewing your own PJ pants, yesterday.

IMG_0657

I left her there at 10:30 with a 3 yards of rather wild newly washed and dried flannel plus one yard of elastic, and picked her up at 1:30, with these:

IMG_0661

Her own, brand new, freshly sewn PJ pants!

We stopped at Target on the way home to pick up a matching shirt.  I think she’s pretty proud, what do you think?

IMG_0663

 

 

ETA- clearly the pants are quite functional, as she slept until 11 am today!

IMG_0706

2 Comments

Filed under Annie, Sewing (not quilting!)

2 responses to “Annie, Junior Sewist, Redux

  1. Love these and I wish I had started at her age!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

