Ta da!

I did it!

Ta dah!

My 2011 afghan is DONE! I finished the final stitch on the border about 2 weeks ago, but I didn’t have a good spot in my house to try and photograph it. (I even thought about taking it to the ice castles last weekend, but decided that would be insane.) So when March’s afghan block class rolled around, I took the finished blanket with me to Fancy Tiger and borrowed their floor…

Laid out on the floor, you can see all the problems. But you know what? I don’t care! I love this afghan. I’m proud of it. The colors make me smile. And the fact that I did it- I spent a year learning new techniques and actually completed this final project- has me ridiculously proud. You’d think I invented crochet or something…

Speaking of which, I couldn’t have done any of this without our fearless leader and amazing teacher, Cat. She’s awesome. And she’s published! Here she is, gamely posing with me and my blankie…

The afghan and the teacher :-)

Thank you, Cat, for a wonderful year!

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Odyssey Afghan

2 responses to “Ta da!

  1. seeflishman

    I know that this took place a few years ago but I wanted to say GREAT JOB!!! I had the same feeling about this Afghan – happiness and smiles!! A few of the blocks are a little wild and possibly better than any meds I have taken, lol!!! You did a fantastic job and you should be so very proud of yourself. You and your energy will now become my motivation to continue on with learning something more then the granny square, lol!!! Thumbs up to you!!!

    • Thank you so much for the lovely comment! This blanket is one of my all time favorite projects, and my family argues on a regular basis about who gets to snuggle under it on the couch… Hooray!

      I just looked through my blog archives because I wanted to show you the second one I made- and it looks like I did that during my year of not so much blogging. Boo. Apparently I haven’t put finished photos of it anywhere, but here are some in process shots: https://www.flickr.com/photos/spamantha/sets/72157629192865723/

      Anyway! thank you so much for visiting and leaving a kind comment that made my day!

      -Sam

      On Tue, May 6, 2014 at 6:59 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

