So very very close…

At the end of 2010, I decided to try to learn how to crochet (again.) I dabbled a bit before that, a scarf here, a hat there, but I never felt comfortable with the craft. Certainly not comfortable enough to read a pattern and make something on my own!

And then I saw Cat’s amazing afghan. Cat’s a teacher at Fancy Tiger, and she came up with this awesome sampler afghan- which then became a full year class. Starting January 2011, meeting once a month to master a different block. The class was free with the purchase of all the yarn up front. I signed up, and talked an acquaintance into joining me. Best decision ever. The casual acquaintance has become a valued friend, and I’m finally more comfortable with crochet. (Still working on reading patterns, though!)

Here’s where I started:

Can YOU spot the afghan in this photo?

(I ended up adding some more blue and green over the course of the year.)

I decided to make each month’s block twice to better cement the concepts into my little brain. And now, just over a year later, I have 21 finished blocks! (I missed September’s class, and only made one of October’s…time to finish those up!)

Ta-da!

21 of the 24 blocks for my 2011 Odyssey Afghan

Pretend they’re all perfectly square, okay? Once I finish the socks currently on my needles, I will tackle those 3 missing blocks, and then move on to sewing the whole mess together. And then a border. And then a year’s work will be done!

Meanwhile, I signed up for the 2012 class. 4 folks from last year did- we all loved it so much. The blocks will have some differences, and we’ll all get 2 hours a month of guaranteed hang-out-and-hook time! Let’s hope I can finish the 2011 blanket before I get too engrossed in the 2012 version…

9 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Odyssey Afghan

9 responses to “So very very close…

  1. Wow! This is so amazing. I am so inspired! Please follow my blog, I am new to the blogging scene and would love more followers! I will be posting crochet, and knit tutorials as well as baking tips and little quirks of my life! Please and thank you!!!

  2. digthatbird

    You can square them up with a little blocking… I never even thought to block my squares until I saw this post from Cozy Things: http://cozymadethings.blogspot.com/2012/01/grannies-and-little-about-blocking.html
    I love the colors!!

  3. Michelle P.

    Those colors are awesome!

  4. Oh, pretty! I dabbled in crochet before I found quilting. It’s not hard once you understand what the hell the patterns say. Someday, I’ll learn how to knit…

    • I find i can learn it visually from a teacher way better than from a book, hence the class being so awesome for me… if you still lived here, I’d teach you how to knit. Of course, I may need to give up and fly to NYC to see Book of Mormon, so I could stay with you and pay “rent” with lessons 😉

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

