The LOUDEST Xmas quilt, ever.

I promise, I’ve been slowly plugging away at the modern cross quilt- at least 6 more blocks done since last I posted, maybe even more.

But.

I decided I would do something I’ve been meaning to do for the last 4 or more years.

Actually USE some of my xmas fabric to make an xmas quilt, and to then USE that quilt over the holidays.

Every year I mean to start an xmas quilt, but when I first think of it, it’s way too early. And then I forget, and then when I finally do remember, it seems like it’s too late to bother, and I put it off until after the holidays. And then, it seems like it’s too early. Do you see the problem here?

We had a lovely Thanksgiving with friends and family, and then we decorated the entire house, from outdoor lights to indoor trees. And that put me in the holiday mood. (At least as much as this grinch is ever in the holiday mood.)  So I finally got out that stash of xmas fabric (built up in bits and pieces over many years) and dug in.

And this is what happened next.

the LOUDEST xmas quilt in the world...

Truly, the most obnoxious xmas quilt ever. And yet I love it. See the block in the bottom row, 2nd from the left? Turquoise with the red deer? That’s pretty much my favorite xmas fabric. There’s also teeny tiny pin-up girls, celebratory owls, all sorts of ornaments, and a tree made out of candy canes.  Whee!

I’m hoping to be able to sandwich and quilt this by Sunday. And to then USE it, THIS holiday season.

What a crazy concept.

5 Comments

Filed under Quilts

5 responses to “The LOUDEST Xmas quilt, ever.

  1. Bonnienie

    Oh my gosh, I love what you consider “loud” 🙂 I think it’s the PERFECT Christmas quilt!

  2. Love it! It’s not obnoxious at all.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

