Same old different stripes

I did some knitting-as-barter recently for a friend. She works somewhere that my family loves, and to which our membership had recently expired… So a few months back we had a lunch date- I introduced her to the joys of both Fancy Tiger AND Sputnik– and she picked out some luscious Malabrigo. A skein of Sock in Primavera, and 3 of Silky Merino in Redwood bark.  That Silky Merino was heavenly to work with. I think I may need some for myself…

The colors were not my usual cup of tea, but they were stunning, and together, even more so.  My friend loved the asymmetrical stripes of Different Lines I made for myself earlier this year, so that’s what she got. That’s an awful lot of stockinette stitch for one year…

I finished it right before Halloween, and then there was the blocking. Finally got to hand it over this week- and I think she’s happy!  What do you think? (Pardon the crappy camera phone photos in the lousy lighting of a conference room…)

t and her new shawl

T and her new shawl

Now, back to selfish knitting!

1 Comment

Filed under Gift, Knitting, Shawls

One response to “Same old different stripes

  1. Andi

    Gorgeous color combination!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

