What do my mystery shawl and my vacation have in common?

They’re both done now.

(Ba dum bum…I’ll be here all week ladies and gentlemen.)

I had the best of plans to finish my Westknits mystery shawl before I left on vacation.  But it turns out my decision to make the largest size, including the optional extra repeat, made for a very very very long knit.  When we left for the airport, I was still on the final repeat, and had the border in front of me as well. Oi.

So the shawl came with me on vacation, not on my shoulders but still on the needles.  If you scroll down, you can see my beachside knitting in action. I finished weaving in the last ends on Friday night, the last night of the trip, and I wore the shawl home.

Shawl and vacation, both done :-(

You can see that the large size is truly large!

Shawl and vacation, both done :-(

My dear husband took the photo on the balcony of our timeshare down in Hilton Head Island. We’ve been going down to the lowcountry ever since my folks moved there in 2003. Even though my mom now lives here, we still have the timeshare on the island, and for one blissful week every September, we escape there. We’re back now, but it was great while it lasted.

7 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Shawls

7 responses to “What do my mystery shawl and my vacation have in common?

  1. A finished item and a vacation!! Two things I have absolutely no experience with!!!

  2. Love your shawl. The large size is wonderful isn’t it? I just recently finished my KAL shawl so I can happily share your excitement,

  3. The shawl looks wonderful.

  4. Your shawl looks wonderful Samantha. I’m so glad to have found you again – I lost you from my reader for a while – not anymore! I look forward to catching up with you again and again.
    *hugs*
    Tazzie
    🙂

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

