Halfway There…

(Random aside- anyone else around my age now humming Livin’ On A Prayer? Take my hand, we’ll make it, I swear…)

Apologies for the ear worm, but hey, I am officially halfway done piecing my long-neglected Modern Cross quilt top! Thank you all for your supportive comments last week- it’s good to know that others have let projects, um, marinate, for prolonged periods…

This weekend, I sat down and made the final five green blocks.

IMG_6431 IMG_6438

No more trimming!! Whoo!!

This quilt is going to be king (!) sized, and so only half of it can fit on my design wall at once.

IMG_6443

And even getting that half up there required some very hard work and precarious step ladder balancing. What you see above is half #2. It’s on hold for the moment while I work on Meow Mix, since finishing all the kitties was my March goal for the Year of Lovely Finishes. But before I put it on hold, I got the entire first half pieced together!

IMG_6457

(Ignore the surly faced helper- she actually wasn’t cranky at all, she was taking her role as holder very very seriously.)

This thing is HUGE. I’m going to have to send it out to be quilted, budget be damned. I can’t imagine that I could handle it at home. But all I want are simple straight lines. I have a fun finishing touch planned- I have tons of blue, green, and purple buttons (bought on a very lucky trip to Tuesday Morning) and each cross is getting a button in the center. So cute! (I hope!) Ask me if I still feel that way AFTER I sew on #100.

Something fascinating about having worked on this over 3 years is seeing my fabric tastes change. Today me might never have used some of the fabrics picked out by 2011 me, but I’m glad that I did. Some of my older choices are busier than what I might pick currently, but they are very, very ME. I love seeing them all together… ┬áDo you find that your fabric tastes has changed drastically over the years?

Next week, we’ll be in Boston for spring break. Hopefully their latest snow will have melted. What this means is that Modern Cross will be put on hold for one more week, but I do plan to finish piecing it ASAP, probably in the week between out trip and the big sewing room move

Linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced and Let’s Be Social.

 

25 Comments

Filed under Modern Cross, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

25 responses to “Halfway There…

  1. Your quilt looks great!

  2. Well I didn’t have that song in my head until you mentioned it. Thanks so much.

    I started quilting in 1997. You should see some of the fabrics lurking in the back of my stash.

    • How funny- that’s the same year I started. I have some doozies in my stash, too… I have big plans to destash some of the uglies later this year when I move my sewing room…

      Thanks for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 9:51 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

    • PS Sorry about sticking Bon Jovi in your head :-(

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 9:51 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. Incredibly gorgeous and incredibly HUGE! I love the colour scheme. Yes, I find my tastes have changed. I am naturally drawn to solid like fabrics and am trying to get more prints with a variety of colours in them now. Can’t wait to see your finished Meow Mix!

    • LOL, we should swap! I didn’t use solids at all until a few years ago, and I’m still bulking up that part of my stash. Prints, well, yeah, I have those in abundance…

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 11:45 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. It looks great! Congratulations on making so much progress!

    • Thank you! It does feel excellent to be so close to done…with the top at least. That pesky quilting will be another matter altogether!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 11:46 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Your quilt is looking spectacular!! I too have just a few “older” fabrics, I try to mix them into everything I make these days!! Linda

    • I definitely do that with the older ones I don’t hate, but some of them are pretty hideous… Might be time to chop some into 2.5″ strips and just see what happens… Thanks for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 2:09 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Very nice. Are there any fabric repeats? :) I’m lucky, there are only a few fabrics in my stash that I’m not so keen on anymore. I’m not sure what to do with them. What are you going to do with your de-stashed fabrics?

    • I’m not sure yet what I’ll do with the de-stash. Last year, I took a bundle of fabric over to a local store that buys unwashed yardage for resale. I was surprised by how much they paid…

      Meanwhile, to answer your other question- there are almost no fabric repeats. There are 25 green blocks, with the most repeats- 3 or 4. None in the 25 blue blocks! And I think 3, or maybe 4 in the 50 purples…

      Thanks for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 2:31 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Love the quilt! I started quilting about 6 years ago and I purchased an insane amount of more traditional fabric most of which is still lingering in a corner somewhere. I am definitely more drawn to modern prints and colours now.

    • I don’t have much that I would call traditional in my stash, but my taste in prints has definitely evolved!

      Thank you for visiting :-) -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 4:52 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. I love these colours…..my teenage holders usually are just surly when asked to hold quilts for endless minutes but it’s hard to get the right shot isn’t it haha

    • Amusingly, my daughter is very often surly, but she wasn’t being so at that moment! She likes being part of quilt photo shoots; it’s everything ELSE in the world she hates ;-)

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 7:12 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. Your quilt is pretty amazing! Keep up the good work! I agree with the idea of sending it out to be quilted. That would be difficult to quilt on a home machine and you will also have a chance to start a new project while it is being quilted!

    • Ooh, that’s a good point. And I do have several projects waiting in the wings…

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 8:25 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  10. Looks Great! It’s always the simple looking quilts that are labors of love. I hope to do a cross quilt someday too, so I’ll just have to add it to my quilt bucket list.

    • Even if I haven’t loved making one, I do still love how it looks in the end. It totally deserves a bucket list spot!

      Thanks for visiting, Sam

      On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 8:55 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  11. it’s brilliant! And so, so huge!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

