Better (Really, Really) Late than Never

Hi. Maybe you can help me understand something.

Why has this project been languishing on and off since 2011??

Back in 2011, I was totally sweet up in the craze surrounding Modern Log Cabin Quilting by Susan Beal, of West Coast Crafty. I bought the book and started the cover project, Modern Cross, right away. I loved it.

6310558701_524c7ed72c

And then, I kind of stopped sewing.  For a year or so. I barely made anything. Well, I knitted and knitted and did some pretty awesome crochet, too, but, no quilting. In 2012, I picked it up again.

6834760364_7ba68bf6c0

 

But it felt like, no matter how much I worked on it, I never made any progress. I got frustrated. And so, I put it back down.

On this past Sunday, I realized I had sewing time, and no plans. The Meow Mix quilt is on hold, waiting for some orange scraps to arrive, and I’m caught up on my Tula blocks. I didn’t have the energy to baste the one baby quilt top that is waiting to be finished. So what was I going to do?

I cleaned up the sewing room.

And when that got old, I looked at the pile of Modern Cross blocks, sitting in the naughty pile, along with my Anna Maria Horner feather blocks, and a few other neglected WIPs. And I thought, why not finally go back to these blocks?

I counted them. And I realized that when I quit, I was sooooo close to finishing. I needed 12 more purple blocks, and 4 more green. Less than 20 out of 100. So I buckled down, and started sewing.

IMG_6404

Okay, this is a terrible photo, but that’s ALL the remaining purple blocks, pieced since Sunday morning. That’s all it took.

Why on Earth have I put this off for 2 years? It feels ridiculously good to be this close to done with the blocks!

IMG_6411

All the blues are done, and actually, I have 6 extra. Ooops. I’ll get the 4 greens done, and then… I can piece the top. 3 years later.

This is giving a whole new meaning to better late than never, eh? Have you ever let a project sit this long?

Linking up with WIP Wednesday and Let’s Be Social,

41 Comments

Filed under Modern Cross, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

41 responses to “Better (Really, Really) Late than Never

  1. It will be stunning when it is all done. Well worth the wait!

  2. It’s going to be so great when it’s finished! Sometimes you just have to step away from something and go where the passion leads you for a while. :)

    • The passion had definitely gone out of this project! but I think it just might be back… Thanks for visiting! -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 8:08 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. This is stunning and will be well worth finishing. I let a clamshell Mendocino quilt litterally collect dust under my son’s crib for years and only finished it last year at a guild retreat- it’s now one of my favorites but it was a total pin to do!

    • When I finally finish my AMH feather quilt (going on 2 years old now) I think I will feel exactly that way. I don’t find it fun to work on, but I do love the way it looks… Thanks for visiting! -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 9:07 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. I have projects that are 4, 5 , 10 even 16 years! Gahhh!!!
    This is going to be one pretty quilt!!

    • Hi LauraJ! I have a few that are that old, but I have to admit, I don’t think they’re ever going to get finished. You make so many gorgeous things, I think it makes sense that with that volume, you’d have some old WIPs hanging out :-) -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 9:16 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Congratulations on picking up the project again! I made some blocks in 2008 that sat for a very. long. time. I finally did something with them last year (5 years later), so I definitely know what you mean by better late than never!

    • I have a few projects that are genuinely abandoned, that disappointed me so much that I will never finish them, but this one I still really like. It feels really good to get back to it

      Thanks for visiting!

      -Sam

  6. Sandra Louise

    Love this – I definitely want to make another plus-sign quilt in this style.

    • I have to admit that even though I love the way these blocks look, I dont enjoy making them. So much trimming! Once Im done, I dont think Ill want to try again- unless I find a way to make the blocks that doesnt involve trimming so much Thanks for visiting! -Sam

  7. It looks fantastic, I can’t believe you’ve waited 2 years! but I can totally understand the pull of the knitting needles over the quilting because at least the knitting is portable and you can watch tv and chat etc while you do but the sewing is so much more focused work

    • I started knitting for just that reason- I was a quilter first, and sometimes got lonely. I can knit and watch a movie with my family at the same time Thanks for visiting! -Sam

  8. Very funny…the naughty pile! I totally understand! But it is going to be gorgeous when finished..very, very soon!

  9. It looks wonderful, and I have some blocks that I am pretending don’t exist at the moment. I really should get to them.

  10. ellen

    It will be great, I love it. I have quite a few UFOs and WIPs… I am a slacker at heart and new pretty fabric distracts me.

    • Pretty new fabric distracts me too its better now that I dont work in a quilt shop- which I bet you can relate to ;-) Although, the internet is way too tempting. Still trying to resist that new Tula

      -Sam

  11. Hurray for finishing an UFO!! Love those cross blocks, they are so fun to make.

  12. I love the color palette. Go, go, go!

    • Thank you :-) This is definitely my color palette- Im very predictable. I was a bit shocked to realize that I repeated almost no prints, and they ALL came from stash! Yikes! Thanks for visiting.

      -Sam

  13. Those log cabin crosses are really cute! Glad to see you found just the right time to get back into it. And that you were enjoying your sewing time!

  14. I think we all have those kind of projects that sit way longer than what we had planned. I LOVE them :) Good luck finishing.

    • I’m looking forward to the happy feeling I’ll have when I finish this! And to how it will look in our bedroom. Thank you for visiting! -Sam

      On Thu, Mar 20, 2014 at 8:03 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  15. I do that too. Give up on a project for no particular reason, other than something new and shiny coming along, then when I take it out I wonder why I stopped so close to the end! it looks amazing though, gorgeous quilt

    • I was going through a major sewing slump in 2011-13… I think I’m finally out of it, and finishing this project will be the icing on the cake :-) -Sam

      On Fri, Mar 21, 2014 at 3:36 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  16. I try not to let projects languish. I know if they sit in the frustration box for too long it means they’re no good. Those things that are still there are mostly experimental, and probably no good to anyone. I do have a bunch of cushions from last September to finish up, but those are my “in between quilts” projects now. Good on your for getting this done!

    • I like the idea of a “frustration box”- it’s kind of like my naughty shelf. I think hanging onto those projects isn’t so good for us, emotionally. They create guilt just by existing! I’m doing a big sewing room makeover over spring break (I have a week off from work!!) and as I move things from one room to another, I will be assessing whether I will ever finish them. The nes I won’t are going to be recycled somehow, and out of my life!

      -Sam

      On Fri, Mar 21, 2014 at 9:07 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  17. creativeinstincts

    Remember seing the Modern crosses quilt on the book cover. Absolutely pretty. It has taken time but would turn out to be a wonderful quilt.
    leena

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

